Skip to content ↓

Who's who


Michael Andrews - Appointed 23.09.2016

Michael is a qualified economist & corporate treasurer, his youngest daughter attended Market Field School where Michael has been a governor for many years. He has extensive experience in financial governance having chaired the audit committees of Colchester PCT & Colne housing society. He is currently a Mental Health Act Manager for HPFT NHS Trust

Roger Morris - Appointed 23.09.2016

Roger Morris, (born 1968), studied Chemistry at Imperial College, London, and then Theology at Trinity College Cambridge. He has been in ordained ministry since 1993 and Bishop of Colchester in the Diocese of Chelmsford since 2014. Roger is married to Sally, a Headteacher in a Secondary School and a Minister in Secular Employment (MSE). They have two daughters.

Roger is Chair of Trustees of Innervation Trust (who run a schools collective worship project called iSingPop) and is also a Member of the All Saints Academy Trust (Halstead) and a Trustee of the Keys Co-operative Academy Trust.

He is Patron of the Abberton Rural Training Partnership, Colchester Foodbank, Beacon House, Colchester and Tendring Youth Enquiry Service, Korban (a housing project for vulnerable young people) and CYO (Colchester) (who provide chaplaincy and prayer space activities in schools). He is also President of St Helena Hospice.

Recently, Roger has been involved as a member of the Essex Resilience Forum (as part of the Greater Essex response to COVID-19) and has chaired the Faith and Community Tactical Coordinating Group. He is also serving on the Essex Climate Commission and the steering group for Essex 2020.

Roger stage-manages the Canopy Stage (previously ‘The Performance Café’) at the annual Greenbelt Christian Arts Festival and is a keen supporter of Bristol Rovers Football Club.

Caroline Haynes - Appointed 11.02.2018

Dr Caroline Haynes is now retired having spent 37 years in schools, 20 years as a Headteacher of two large comprehensive schools in Essex and finally as Executive Headteacher of two AET academies.

In 2007 Caroline was Head Teacher of the year in the Eastern Region and in 2008 she won the Education category in the Daily Telegraph “Great Britons” Award.

Caroline is a National Leader of Education and was an elected member of the first Eastern Region and North East London Regional Schools Commissioner’s Academy Headteacher Board.

Prior to her retirement, Caroline, in collaboration with Essex LEA and Market Field School, was proud to set up the Autistic Support Centres at Thorpe Campus and Frinton Campus of Tendring Technology College.

She is now a Vice Chair of the Vine Schools Trust and Chair of the Standards and Performance committee

Jeff Brindle - Appointed 17.12.2020

Jeff has recently retired from being the CEO of the Sigma Trust, the largest Multi Academy Trust working solely in Essex with over 11,000 pupils and 1600 staff working within its academies. Prior to this role, Jeff was Principal of Clacton County High School for 9 years and, in his last year in charge, saw the school achieve the highest Progress 8 outcomes in Essex. Jeff taught Maths for 36 years in a range of schools across London, Surrey and Essex. He is passionate about collaborative working between schools and played a key role in the establishment of North East Essex Education Partnership (NEEEP), the predecessor of Sigma. He has a keen interest in curriculum innovation and believes this is a key ingredient in maximising the outcomes for all pupils, particularly those from the most disadvantaged backgrounds. Jeff has also been Chair of the Management Board of North East Essex Additional Provision School (NEEAPS) since 2013.

Trustees - Term of office 4 years.

Michael Andrews CHAIR - Reappointed by Members 6.12.2020  (The chair can be contacted via the clerk to trustees:

Michael is a qualified economist & corporate treasurer; his youngest daughter has moderate LD & attended Market Field School where Michael has been a governor for many years. He has extensive experience in financial governance having chaired the audit committees of Colchester PCT & Colne housing society. He is currently a Mental Health Act Manager for HPFT NHS Trust.

Russell Sheldon - Appointed by Members 20.05.22


Susanna Frost - Co-opted by Trustees 02.02.2021

Susanna Frost is the HR Director to Fred Olsen Ltd. In addition to her HR expertise, Susanna achieved a post-graduate diploma in Employment Law to enhance her knowledge of UK employment law as her previous experience had included employment law for Europe and other parts of the world. Susanna is keen to give back to the world of education and give children today the best experience possible.

Alan Goggin - Reappointed by Members 06.12.2020

Alan is the ECC elected County Councillor for the Division including St. Osyth, Thorrington, Alresford, Great Bentley, Point Clear, and Brightlingsea. He has a background in Financial Management and was a governor at Market Field School before becoming a trustee.

Jon Kinnell - Appointed by Members 17.12.2020 - resigned 9.05.2023

A philanthropy, impact strategy and multi-generational specialist, Jon has enjoyed the privilege of working with some of the most entrepreneurial and passionate individuals, their families, and advisors to design philanthropic strategies which incorporate impact investing within their portfolios.

With a focus on international development, education and engaging marginalised communities. Jon has over 15 years’ experience in impact strategies. Holding senior posts within diverse global organisations including the SESA Community Ltd, The Philanthropy Club, INGO - WaterAid, along with the Charities Aid Foundation. Jon brings to the team experience advising on high value philanthropy, fundraising, social enterprise, alternative and social financing. A unique perspective bridging both sides of the funding journey. And the skill set to identify and build alliances that achieve long term systemic, social, economic, and environmental impact.

Michael Lucking - Appointed by Members 23.11.2020

Michael recently retired from his role as a Business and Finance Director for Tesco. He has extensive experience working on large change programmes and using his skills to contribute to the exciting opportunities afforded by the move to a trust status.

He took an entry-level position at Tesco directly after leaving school and held many positions throughout his 37 year career.

He is using retirement to catch up on his love for golf and returning to being a school governor, things that sadly suffered due to his hectic work schedule.

He enjoys spending time with his family, young grandchildren and eating out 

Darin Shaikly - Co-opted by trustees 31.03.22

Gary Smith - CEO

Gary graduated with a degree in linguistics in 1979 and went on to complete his PGCE (Physical Education) in 1980.  He taught in mainstream schools in Oxfordshire and London gaining early promotions.

In 1984 Gary moved into working in a residential unit for pupils with mild learning difficulties.  From their he moved on to working in an Emotional and Behavioural Disorders support unit.  It was at this point that Gary moved to Market Field School where he has been ever since. 

Gary was Head of School at Market Field School 20 years until 2016 when the school formed a multi-academy trust and Gary became the executive head and CEO of the Hope Learning Community.

In addition, Gary led the Essex Special Schools Education Trust (ESSET) for 10 years.

In 2018 Gary was awarded an OBE for services to education.

Kerry Linden. Appointed by trustees 18.05.2023. 

Simon Walters Appointed by members 15.05.2024.

  • Market Field School, School Road, Elmstead Market, Essex CO7 7ET

  • 01206825195